National Park Of American Samoa

The word “Samoa” means "Sacred Earth", a reflection of Polynesian culture at its very roots and its people’s attitude toward their land. The people of Polynesia have remained keenly attuned with their natural environment and managed it communally for some 3,000 years. 

American Samoa is a U.S. territory, situated roughly 2,600 miles to the southwest of Hawaii. It consists of ten volcanic islands, along with two coral atolls (ring-shaped coral reefs). Out of the two atolls, only one is inhabited. The land was authorized as a National Park in 1988 by Congress, and the Samoan chiefs formed an agreement (50-year lease) which enabled the facility of the National Park to make use of a section of the rain forest, coral reef on three islands and the beach. 

The Samoans help manage the park, and many villages offer ‘homestay’ programs and guest facilities. The Park was established on the 31st of October, 1988, and its total size is 13,500 acres, out of which 9,500 acres is dry land and 4,000 acres is water. 

The park on the eastern most island, Tau spans nearly 5,400 acres and includes a thousand acres offshore, and Lata Mountain, American Samoa’s highest peak. Tourists are welcomed by a view of the cloud forest’s unforgettably panoramic beauty when you drive towards the rugged roads through cliffs of the southern coastal area. The loveliest beach of the American Samoa is located on the remote and small Ofu Island and the main tourist attraction of this area is the beautiful 350 acre coral reef.